Travel into the fifth dimension once again with The Twilight Zone, testing the limits of reality and exploring the mysteries of the universe. Airing from 1985 to 1989, this critically acclaimed anthology series carried on the legacy of the original Rod Serling program and attracted a brand new audience of fans.

The Twilight Zone - Netflix

Type: Scripted

Languages: English

Status: Ended

Runtime: 60 minutes

Premier: 1985-09-27

The Twilight Zone - The Twilight Zone (1959 TV series) - Netflix

The Twilight Zone (also marketed as Twilight Zone, sans “The”) is an American science fiction horror fantasy anthology television series created and presented by Rod Serling, which ran for five seasons on CBS from 1959 to 1964. Each episode presents a standalone story in which characters find themselves dealing often disturbing or unusual events, an experience described as entering “the Twilight Zone,” often ending with a surprise ending and a moral. Although predominantly science-fiction, the show's paranormal, futuristic and Kafkaesque events leaned the show towards fantasy, horror, and the supernatural. The series featured both established stars and younger actors who would become much better known later. Serling served as executive producer and head writer; he wrote or co-wrote 92 of the show's 156 episodes. He was also the show's host and narrator, delivering monologues at the beginning and end of each episode. Serling's opening and closing narrations usually summarize the episode's events encapsulating how and why the main character(s) had entered the Twilight Zone. In 1997, the episodes “To Serve Man” (directed by: Richard L. Bare), and “It's a Good Life” (directed by: James Sheldon), were respectively ranked at 11 and 31 on TV Guide's 100 Greatest Episodes of All Time; Serling himself stated that his favorite episodes of the series were “The Invaders” (directed by: Douglas Heyes), and “Time Enough at Last”,(Directed by: John Brahm), In 2016, it was ranked No. 8 on Rolling Stone's list of the 100 greatest shows of all time. In 2002, The Twilight Zone was ranked No. 26 on TV Guide's 50 Greatest TV Shows of All Time. In 2013, the Writers Guild of America ranked it as the third best-written TV series ever and TV Guide ranked it as the fifth greatest show of all time.

The Twilight Zone - Music - Netflix

Besides Bernard Herrmann and Jerry Goldsmith, other contributors to the music were Nathan Van Cleave, Leonard Rosenman, Fred Steiner, and Franz Waxman. The first season featured an orchestral title theme by Herrmann, who also wrote original scores for seven of the episodes, including the premiere, “Where Is Everybody?”. The guitar theme most associated with the show was written by the French avant-garde composer Marius Constant as part of a series of short cues commissioned by CBS as “work made for hire” library music for the series. Used from season two onward, the theme as aired was a splicing together of two of these library cues: “Etrange 3 (Strange No. 3)” and “Milieu 2 (Middle No. 2)”. Varèse Sarabande released several albums of music from the series, focusing on the episodes that received original scores. Volume 1 Main Title Theme – Marius Constant (:27) The Invaders – Jerry Goldsmith (12:57) Perchance To Dream – Nathan Van Cleave (9:52) Walking Distance – Bernard Herrmann (12:52) The Sixteen-Millimeter Shrine – Franz Waxman (10:55) End Title Theme – Marius Constant (:42) Volume 2 Main Title Theme – Bernard Herrmann (1:11) Where Is Everybody? – Bernard Herrmann (11:19) 100 Yards Over The Rim – Fred Steiner (12:14) The Big Tall Wish – Jerry Goldsmith (11:52) A Stop at Willoughby – Nathan Scott (12:24) End Title Theme – Bernard Herrmann (1:05) Volume 3 Alternate Main Title Theme – Marius Constant (:38) Back There – Jerry Goldsmith (12:51) And When The Sky Was Opened – Leonard Rosenman (11:54) A World Of Difference – Nathan Van Cleave (11:48) The Lonely – Bernard Herrmann (11:09) Alternate End Title – Marius Constant (:54) Volume 4 Alternate Main Title – Bernard Herrmann (:28) Jazz Theme One – Jerry Goldsmith (9:12) Jazz Theme Two – Jerry Goldsmith (3:12) Jazz Theme Three – Rene Garriguenc (4:04) Nervous Man in a Four Dollar Room – Jerry Goldsmith (8:16) Elegy – Nathan Van Cleave (8:14) King Nine Will Not Return – Fred Steiner (11:11) Two – Nathan Van Cleave (12:09) Alternate End Title – Bernard Herrmann (:43) Volume 5 Alternate Main Title #2 – Bernard Herrmann (:29) I Sing The Body Electric – Nathan Van Cleave (11:41) The Passerby – Fred Steiner (12:58) The Trouble With Templeton – Jeff Alexander (11:46) Dust – Jerry Goldsmith (11:33) Alternate End Title #2 – Bernard Herrmann (1:07) Many of the above were included on a four-disc set released by Silva America. Varese also released a two-disc set of re-recordings of Herrmann's seven scores for the series (“Where Is Everybody?”, “Walking Distance”, “The Lonely”, “Eye of the Beholder”, “Little Girl Lost”, “Living Doll”, and “Ninety Years Without Slumbering”), conducted by Joel McNeely. Alongside this release, Bernard Herrmann's score for the episode “Walking Distance” received another re-recording accompanying a new recording of his score for François Truffaut's “Fahrenheit 451” performed by the Moscow Symphony Orchestra, conducted by William T. Stromberg and released by Tribute Film Classics.

The Twilight Zone - References - Netflix