When a certain man is released from prison, he knows exactly where he's heading first. After falling in love with a traditional comic storyteller's rendition of the story called "Shinigami," he is determined to become his apprentice. The performer, Yakumo, has never taken an apprentice before, but to everyone's surprise, he accepts the eager ex-prisoner, nicknaming him "Yotaro." As Yotaro happily begins his new life, he meets others in Yakumo's life, including Yakumo's ward Konatsu. Konatsu was the daughter of a famous storyteller, and Yakumo took her in after her father's tragic death. Konatsu loved her father's storytelling, and would love to become a performer in her own right—but that path is not available for women.

Shouwa Genroku Rakugo Shinjuu - Netflix

Type: Animation

Languages: Japanese

Status: Ended

Runtime: 25 minutes

Premier: 2016-01-08

Shouwa Genroku Rakugo Shinjuu - Descending Stories: Showa Genroku Rakugo Shinju - Netflix

Descending Stories: Showa Genroku Rakugo Shinju (昭和元禄落語心中, Shōwa Genroku Rakugo Shinjū, lit. “Shōwa, Genroku, Rakugo, and Double Suicide”) is a Japanese manga series written and illustrated by Haruko Kumota. It began serialization in Kodansha's ITAN magazine in 2010. The manga is licensed in North America by Kodansha USA. The manga was adapted into two original video animations which were bundled with special editions of the seventh and eighth manga volumes on March 6 and August 7, 2015, respectively. It was also adapted into an anime television series which aired between January 9, 2016 and April 2, 2016. A second season of the anime television series aired between January 7, 2017 and March 25, 2017.

Shouwa Genroku Rakugo Shinjuu - Anime - Netflix

The seventh and eighth volumes of the manga included a 2-episode original anime DVD entitled Yotarō-hen Zenko-pen (与太郎放浪篇・前後編, lit. “Yotarō Arc Part I and II”) produced by Studio Deen. An anime television adaptation also produced by Studio Deen premiered on January 9, 2016. It was directed by Mamoru Hatakeyama and written by Jun Kumagai, with music by Kana Shibue. Three promotional videos were released on KING RECORDS's YouTube page prior to the anime's premiere: the first on October 6, 2015, the second on 10 November 2015, and the final PV on December 14, 2015. The opening theme of the first season was “Usurai Shinjū” (薄ら氷心中, lit. “Thin-ice Double Suicide”) composed by Sheena Ringo and performed by Megumi Hayashibara. Crunchyroll added the anime to its simulcast stream in 2016. The first season has been licensed for a UK release by Anime Limited. An announcement revealing the anime's second season was posted on the creator's Twitter account. The second season, titled Descending Stories: Shōwa Genroku Rakugo Shinjū (昭和元禄落語心中~助六再び篇~, Shōwa Genroku Rakugo Shinjū: Sukeroku Futatabi-hen), premiered on January 7, 2017. The staff from the first season reprised their roles in the second season. The opening theme of the second season was “Imawa no Shinigami” (今際の死神, lit. “The Death in His Dying Moment”) composed by Sheena Ringo and performed by Megumi Hayashibara.

Shouwa Genroku Rakugo Shinjuu - References - Netflix