Coverage of the sporting event.

Rugby League: Super League Highlights - Netflix

Type: Sports

Languages: English

Status: To Be Determined

Runtime: 60 minutes

Premier: 2007-09-23

Rugby League: Super League Highlights - Super League - Netflix

Super League (currently known as the Betfred Super League for sponsorship reasons) is the top-level professional rugby league club competition in the Northern hemisphere. The league has twelve teams: eleven from England and one from France. Canadian and Welsh clubs that also compete in the Rugby Football League can also qualify. Colloquially known in the UK as the Super League it is referred to internationally as the English Super League (ESL). Super League began in 1996, replacing the RFL Championship and switching from a winter to a summer season. Each team plays 23 games between February and July: 11 home games, 11 away games and a Magic Weekend game at a neutral venue. After 23 games, teams enter a Super 8 stage, the top eight play each other once more. The top four then enter the play-off series leading to the Grand Final (formerly the Championship Final) which determines the champions. The bottom four teams go on to play the top four Championship teams in The Qualifiers to determine who will play in Super League the following season. Leeds Rhinos are the most successful club in the Super League era, having won 8 titles. Wigan Warriors are the most successful club in the previous era, having won 21 British Championships. The Super League champions play the National Rugby League champions from Australasia in the World Club Challenge at the start of the season.

Rugby League: Super League Highlights - International - Netflix

Internationally Super League is shown live by eight different broadcasters in eight different countries and regions.

Rugby League: Super League Highlights - References - Netflix