Yesterday takes a trip back through time to examine the lives of some of the grandest and most notorious figures in British history.

In carefully-arranged poses, the Kings and Queens of history still look down upon us today and are powerful symbols of bygone ages. Their iconic images, captured in famous portraits and paintings, are part of the very fabric of national culture.

But what lay behind the pomp and ceremony, the crowns and the courts?

Each one possessed the same foibles, bad habits and weaknesses as the rest of us. Historian Tracy Borman investigates the hidden histories of our monarchs, examining the very colourful private lives of Charles II, Queen Victoria, Louis IV, George III and the Prince Regent and Henry VIII.

Private Lives of the Monarchs - Netflix

Type: Documentary

Languages: English

Status: In Development

Runtime: 60 minutes

Premier: 2017-11-20

Private Lives of the Monarchs - Monarchy of New Zealand - Netflix

The monarchy of New Zealand is the constitutional system of government in which a hereditary monarch is the sovereign and head of state of New Zealand. The current monarch, Queen Elizabeth II, ascended the throne on the death of her father, King George VI, on 6 February 1952. All executive authority is vested in the monarch and her assent is required for parliament to enact laws and for letters patent and Orders in Council to have legal effect. However, the authority for these acts stems from the New Zealand populace and, within the conventional stipulations of constitutional monarchy, the sovereign's direct participation in any of these areas of governance is limited. Most of the related powers are exercised by the elected parliamentarians, the ministers of the Crown generally drawn from amongst them, and the judges and justices of the peace. Other powers vested in the monarch, such as the appointment of a prime minister, are significant, but are treated only as reserve powers and as an important security part of the role of the monarchy. The New Zealand monarchy has its roots in the British Crown, from which it has evolved to become a distinctly New Zealand institution, represented by unique symbols. New Zealand's monarch is today shared equally with 15 other countries within the Commonwealth of Nations, all being independent and the monarchy of each legally distinct. As a result, the current monarch is officially titled Queen of New Zealand (Māori: Kuini o Aotearoa) and, in this capacity, she, her consort, and other members of the Royal Family undertake various public and private functions across New Zealand and on behalf of the country abroad. However, the Queen is the only member of the Royal Family with any constitutional role. While several powers are the sovereign's alone, because she lives predominantly in the United Kingdom, most of the royal constitutional and ceremonial duties in the Realm of New Zealand are typically carried out by the Queen's viceregal representative, the governor-general. The role of the monarchy in New Zealand is a recurring topic of public discussion.

Private Lives of the Monarchs - Foreign affairs - Netflix

The Royal Prerogative also extends to foreign affairs: the sovereign or the governor-general conducts treaties, alliances, and international agreements, on the advice of the Cabinet. The governor-general, on behalf of the Queen, also accredits New Zealand high commissioners and ambassadors, and receives similar diplomats from foreign states. In 2005, the Letters of Credence and Recall were altered so as to run in the name of the incumbent governor-general, instead of following the usual international process of the letters being from one head of state to another. In addition, the issuance of passports falls under the Royal Prerogative, and, as such, all New Zealand passports are issued in the monarch's name and remain her property.

Private Lives of the Monarchs - References - Netflix