An NAACP Image Award is an accolade presented by the American National Association for the Advancement of Colored People to honor outstanding people of color infilm, television, music, and literature. Similar to other awards, like the Oscars and the Grammys, the 35 categories of the Image Awards are voted on by the award organization's members (that is, NAACP members). Honorary awards (similar to the Academy Honorary Award) have also been included, such as the President's Award, the Chairman's Award, Entertainer of the Year and The Image Award Hall of Fame. The award ceremony was first presented in 1967 and was first nationally televised in 1994 on the Fox Network. The first live broadcast of the event, also on the Fox Network, occurred in 2007 for its 38th edition (up until 2007, the ceremony had been broadcast with tape delay) and the annual ceremonies usually take place in or around the Los Angeles, United States (US) area, in February or early March. The 44th edition aired on NBC.

NAACP Image Awards - Netflix

Type: Variety

Languages: English

Status: Running

Runtime: 120 minutes

Premier: 1984-12-04

NAACP Image Awards - 49th NAACP Image Awards - Netflix

The 49th NAACP Image Awards ceremony, presented by the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP), honored outstanding representations and achievements of people of color in motion pictures, television, music, and literature during the 2017 calendar year. The ceremony took place on January 15, 2018 at the Pasadena Civic Auditorium, was hosted by Anthony Anderson and broadcast on TV One. All nominees are listed below, and the winners are listed in bold.

NAACP Image Awards - Outstanding Character Voice-Over Performance – (Television or Film) - Netflix

Tiffany Haddish – Legends of Chamberlain Heights Yvette Nicole Brown – Elena of Avalor Loretta Devine – Doc McStuffins David Oyelowo – The Lion Guard Kerry Washington – Cars 3

NAACP Image Awards - References - Netflix