Combat Ships is a series that shows how technology transformed naval warfare and tells the stories of the greatest maritime battles, escapes and disasters. From the deadly 18th century Ships of the Line, the primitive submarines of the American Civil War, the landing craft of the D-Day beaches, the fearless hospital ships of the First World War, to the might of nuclear warships - these vessels have shaped world history. Each episode includes powerful eye-witness accounts, interviews with veterans and maritime experts, reconstructions, intriguing technical data and fascinating historical detail.

Combat Ships - Netflix

Type: Documentary

Languages: English

Status: Running

Runtime: 60 minutes

Premier: 2017-02-19

Combat Ships - Freedom-class littoral combat ship - Netflix

The Freedom class is one of two classes of the littoral combat ship program, built for the United States Navy. The Freedom class was proposed by Lockheed Martin as a contender for a fleet of small, multipurpose warships to operate in the littoral zone. Two ships were approved, to compete with the Independence-class design offered by General Dynamics and Austal for a construction contract of up to 55 vessels. Despite initial plans to only accept two of the Freedom and Independence variants, the U.S. Navy has since announced plans to order up to ten additional ships of each class, for a total twelve ships per class. As of 2016, five ships are active and an additional nine are either on order, under construction or fitting out. Starting in 2019, ships of this class will be designated as fast frigates (FF) which will include increased firepower and heavier armor. It was announced in early September 2016 that the first four vessels of the LCS program would be used as test ships rather than being deployed with the fleet. This includes Freedom and Fort Worth.

Combat Ships - Ship orders and naming history - Netflix

The Navy originally ordered two Freedom-class littoral combat ships, the lead ship Freedom (LCS-1) and Fort Worth (LCS-3), announced in March 2009 by then-Secretary of the Navy Donald C. Winter, with even hull numbers being used for the Independence class. On 29 December 2010, the Navy announced that it would be placing a block-buy order of up to ten additional Freedom-class ships, for a total of 12 ships in the class. On 31 March 2016, the Navy exercised an option under the block-buy contract for one additional Freedom-class vessel; LCS-25 would be the eleventh vessel built under the block-buy contract and the thirteenth overall (Freedom and Fort Worth were built prior to the block-buy order). On 10 March 2014, the Navy awarded contract options to fund construction of LCS-17 and LCS-19, the seventh and eighth ships in a 10-ship contract. On 1 April 2015 the Navy awarded LCS-21 to Lockheed Martin. On 1 April 2016, the Navy awarded a contract to Lockheed Martin for LCS-25, the thirteenth of the Freedom-class variants. On 8 October 2017, Marinette Marine announced the order to build LCS-27, at a cost under the congressional cost cap of $584 million. On 13 February 2018, Navy Secretary Richard V. Spencer announced the name of LCS-27 as Nantucket.

Combat Ships - References - Netflix