History-meets-mystery as Codex uses family entertainment to unlock our ancient past. Each week 5 members of the public spend the night at the British Museum in London among its unrivalled collections of historical artefacts. Their challenge is to decipher the "Codex" – a riddle written in a mysterious code.

To ‘crack the Codex', the team follow a trail through the Museum, from the moonlit Great Court through the galleries to the Mummy stores and other spooky places. En route they visit 5 major Artefacts on the theme of the week, and tackle a historical challenge directly related to each one. If they complete a challenge successfully and in time, 2 symbols in the Codex are turned into letters. As well as earning letters, the team is also whittled down in a series of Head-to-Head challenges, also on the theme of the week.

After 5 Artefact Challenges, the sole surviving player returns to the Great Court, where the rest of the team – and the viewers – attempt to ‘crack the Codex' and decipher the riddle. Finally, the surviving player enters the world-famous Reading Room and must use the riddle to decide which of 5 similar artefacts displayed is the only one to which the riddle refers. If the finalist chooses the correct artefact, the team win the show, and a trip to a site of historical interest.

Type: Game Show

Languages: English

Status: Ended

Runtime: 60 minutes

Premier: 2006-11-12

Codex - Codex Mendoza - Netflix

The Codex Mendoza is an Aztec codex, created between 1529 and 1553 and perhaps circa 1541. It contains a history of the Aztec rulers and their conquests, a list of the tribute paid by the conquered, and a description of daily Aztec life, in traditional Aztec pictograms with Spanish explanations and commentary. It is named after Don Antonio de Mendoza, then the viceroy of New Spain, who may have commissioned it, possibly with the intent that it be seen by Charles V, the Holy Roman Emperor and King of Spain. The codex is also known as the Codex Mendocino and La colección Mendoza, and has been held at the Bodleian Library at Oxford University since 1659. It was removed from public exhibition on 23 December 2011. The Bodleian Library holds four other Mesoamerican codices: Codex Bodley, Codex Laud, Codex Selden and the Selden Roll.

Codex - Content - Netflix

Written on European paper, it contains 71 pages, divided into three sections: Section I, folios 1r to 17r or 18r, is a history of the Aztec people from 1325 through 1521 — from the founding of Tenochtitlan through the Spanish conquest. It lists the reign of each ruler and the towns conquered by them. It is uncertain whether folios 17v and 18r belong to Section I or Section II. Section II, folios 17v or 18v to 54v, provides a list of the towns conquered by the Triple Alliance and the tributes paid by each. This section is closely related to, and probably copied from, the Matrícula de Tributos, but the Codex Mendoza contains five provinces not included in the Matrícula. This probably represents material now missing from the Matrícula but present when the Codex Mendoza was copied. Section III, folios 56v to 71v, is a pictorial depiction of the daily life of the Aztecs. Folios 73 to 85 of MS. Arch. Selden. A. 1, as currently foliated, do not form part of the Codex Mendoza. These folios comprise an originally separate manuscript, apparently written in England in the first half of the seventeenth century. This manuscript contains tables of the comparative value of Roman, Greek, English and French money. The two manuscripts were bound together in England in the early seventeenth century.

Codex - References - Netflix