Celebrity Survivor, also known promotionally as Celebrity Survivor: Vanuatu and Australian Celebrity Survivor, was an Australian television series that screened on the Seven Network in 2006, based on the popular reality television show, Survivor. The new series joined the many celebrity-oriented reality programs already in their lineup, such as It Takes Two and Dancing with the Stars. It was hosted by Ian "Dicko" Dickson. Guy Leech, the eventual winner, or "Sole Survivor" of the show, donated A\$100,000 to the charity of his choice, Ride Aid Inc, with the other contestants' charities receiving A\$5000 each. Although better received than the earlier Australian Survivor, Celebrity Survivor was still only a modest success in the ratings and a follow-up Australian Survivor (weather civilian or celebrity edition) has not materialized.

Celebrity Survivor - Netflix

Type: Reality

Languages: English

Status: Ended

Runtime: 60 minutes

Premier: 2006-08-17

Celebrity Survivor - Survivor (franchise) - Netflix

Survivor is a reality competition television franchise produced in many countries throughout the world. The show features a group of contestants who are marooned in an isolated location, where they must provide food, water, fire, and shelter for themselves. The contestants compete in challenges for rewards and immunity from elimination. The contestants are progressively eliminated from the game as they are voted out by their fellow contestants until only one remains and is awarded the grand prize and is named the “Sole Survivor.” The format for Survivor was created in 1992 by the British television producer Charlie Parsons for a United Kingdom TV production company called Planet 24, but the Swedish version, which debuted in 1997, was the first Survivor series to actually make it to television. There are currently 36 American seasons.

Celebrity Survivor - Prizes - Netflix

The Sole Survivor receives a cash prize of $1,000,000 prior to taxes and sometimes also receives a car provided by the show's sponsor. Every player receives a prize for participating on Survivor depending on how long he or she lasts in the game. In most seasons, the runner-up receives $100,000, and third place wins $85,000. All other players receive money on a sliding scale, though specific amounts have rarely been made public. Sonja Christopher, the first player voted off of Survivor: Borneo, received $2,500. In Survivor: Fiji, the first season with tied runners-up, the two runners-up received US$100,000 each, and Yau-Man Chan received US$60,000 for his fourth-place finish. All players also receive an additional $10,000 for their appearance on the reunion show. Most seasons between The Australian Outback and Fiji have featured a late-season reward challenge where the winner receives a car. This reward was infamous for what was later dubbed the “car curse,” referring to the fact that no player who ever won the car went on to win the game during his or her original season. In Survivor: The Australian Outback, Colby Donaldson won a Pontiac Aztek. In Survivor: Africa, Lex van den Berghe won a Chevrolet Avalanche. In Survivor: Marquesas, Sean Rector won a Saturn VUE. In Survivor: Thailand, Ted Rogers won a Chevrolet TrailBlazer. In Survivor: The Amazon, Matthew von Ertfelda won a Saturn Ion. In Survivor: Pearl Islands, Burton Roberts won a GMC Envoy XUV. In Survivor: All-Stars, Rob Mariano won a Chevrolet Colorado. In addition, Rob was allowed to bring another contestant with him on a trip; he chose Amber Brkich, who received a Chevrolet Malibu as a result. In Survivor: Vanuatu, Eliza Orlins won a Pontiac G6. In Survivor: Palau, Ian Rosenberger won a Chevrolet Corvette. In Survivor: Guatemala, Cindy Hall won a 2006 Pontiac Torrent; she was given the option to relinquish her reward to give the other remaining players, but declined. In Survivor: Panama, Terry Deitz won a GMC Yukon. In Survivor: Fiji, Yau-Man Chan won a 2008 Ford Super Duty but gave it to fellow contestant Andria “Dreamz” Herd as part of a strategic deal. Other additional prizes are given out post-game, usually at the live reunion that immediately follows the coronation of the winner. At the Survivor: All-Stars, reunion, Amber, as the Sole Survivor, was asked to select one of her fellow contestants to receive a car; she selected Shii Ann Huang. In Survivor: America's Tribal Council following the All-Stars finale, Rupert Boneham was selected by a popularity poll of Survivor viewers to win $1,000,000. For two seasons, viewers of Survivor voted their favorite player to win a new car. Survivor: Panama: Cirie Fields Survivor: Cook Islands: Ozzy Lusth

From Survivor: China to Survivor: Caramoan, viewers of Survivor voted their favorite player to win $100,000. Survivor: China: James Clement Survivor: Micronesia: James Clement Survivor: Gabon: Robert “Bob” Crowley Survivor: Tocantins: James “J.T.” Thomas, Jr. Survivor: Samoa: Russell Hantz Survivor: Heroes vs. Villains: Russell Hantz Survivor: Nicaragua: Jane Bright Survivor: Redemption Island: Rob Mariano Survivor: South Pacific: Ozzy Lusth Survivor: One World: Kim Spradlin Survivor: Philippines: Lisa Whelchel Survivor: Caramoan: Malcolm Freberg

Celebrity Survivor - References - Netflix