Border Security: America's Front Line follows the work of US Customs and Border Protection (CBP) officers and agents as they clear travelers at land, air and marine ports of entry, inspect cargo and secure America's borders. In search of illegal travelers, weapons, and contraband, there's never a dull moment for the men and women who work for CBP.

Border Security: America's Front Line - Netflix

Type: Reality

Languages: English

Status: Running

Runtime: 30 minutes

Premier: 2012-09-06

Border Security: America's Front Line - Borders of Israel - Netflix

The current borders of the State of Israel are the result both of war and of diplomatic agreements among Israel, her neighbors, and colonial powers. Some borders are internationally recognized while others are disputed. According to interpretations of the Green Line of the 1949 Armistice Agreements, Israel borders Lebanon in the north, the Golan Heights and Syria in the northeast, the West Bank and Jordan in the east, the Gaza Strip and Egypt in the southwest. The border with Egypt is the international border demarcated in 1906 between the United Kingdom and the Ottoman Empire. The borders with Lebanon, Syria and Jordan are based on those drawn by the United Kingdom and France in anticipation of the defeat of the Ottoman Empire in the First World War and the subsequent partition of the Ottoman Empire's Middle East provinces between them. Finalized in subsequent agreements, these borders are referred to as the 1923 Paulet–Newcombe Agreement borders and were those of the British Mandate of Palestine. Israel's borders with Egypt and Jordan have now been formally recognized and confirmed as part of the peace treaties with those countries, and with Lebanon as part of the 1949 Armistice Agreements. As of 2002, the borders with Syria and the Palestinian National Authority were still in dispute.

Border Security: America's Front Line - Status of Jerusalem - Netflix

The status and boundary of Jerusalem continue to be in dispute. Israel took control of West Jerusalem during the 1948 Arab–Israeli War, while Jordan took control of East Jerusalem (including the walled Old City in which most holy places are located). During the Six-Day War of 1967, Israel gained control of East Jerusalem, and shortly after extended Jerusalem’s municipality city limits and applied its laws, jurisdiction, and administration to East Jerusalem and the surrounding area. In 1980, the Knesset passed the Jerusalem Law, declaring Jerusalem to be the “complete and united” capital of Israel. The Israeli government offered the Palestinian residents citizenship, most of whom refused, and are treated today as permanent residents under Israeli law. According to the Israeli rights organisation Hamoked, if these Palestinians live abroad for seven years, or gain citizenship or residency elsewhere, they lose their Israeli residency. The purported annexation of East Jerusalem was criticised by Palestinian, Arab and other leaders. The annexation was declared by the United Nations Security Council as “a violation of international law” and “null and void” in Resolution 478 and has not been recognized by the international community, and all countries have moved their embassies from Jerusalem. On December 6, 2017, US President Donald Trump announced the United States recognition of Jerusalem as the capital of Israel. Secretary of State Rex Tillerson clarified “that the final status [for Jerusalem], including the borders, would be left to the two parties to negotiate and decide.”

Border Security: America's Front Line - References - Netflix