Gripped in a midlife crisis, government minister Sir Paul Berowne is the very portrait of a man in hell. His first wife is dead and his second wife is conducting a very public affair with a society doctor. His brother Hugo is dead too, a victim of terrorists. He is estranged from his daughter, receiving threatening letters and a member of his staff has just died in a bizarre boating accident. It's little wonder then that Sir Paul turns to religion for comfort. But, religion brings only horror, in the form of a particularly gruesome double murder...

A Taste for Death - Netflix

Type: Scripted

Languages: English

Status: Ended

Runtime: 50 minutes

Premier: 1988-10-14

A Taste for Death - A Taste for Death (James novel) - Netflix

A Taste for Death is a crime novel by British writer P. D. James, seventh in the popular Commander Adam Dalgliesh series. The novel won the Silver Dagger in 1986, losing out on the Gold to Ruth Rendell's Live Flesh. It was nominated for a Booker Prize in 1987. The book has been adapted for television and radio.

A Taste for Death - Reception - Netflix

In a 1986 book review for The New York Times, Robert B. Parker wrote the book is “graced by one of the most felicitous prose styles I know. Ms. James is simply a wonderful writer.” The Sunday Times called it “A cunningly compulsive work... heart-pounding suspense”. In a 1986 piece on James by Julian Symons, he notes A Taste for Death “is the longest, most ambitious and the best of Phyllis James's 10 novels.”

A Taste for Death - References - Netflix